Notice, Parts on this site need cookies, for the cookie monster, like when you sign up to receive this blogg in your E-mail and such. Juss so ya know :}

02 February 2012

Chinese Stealing our Crafts AND Pictures to Mass Produce

I am so Steamed right now... I found a site that sells Bulk from Chinese mass produced vendors, and this one has 4 of my feather earrings listed on their front page:

The titles are almost Exactly as I wrote them in listing the items in my Artfire shop, and they stole the picture and watermarked over it.  Here is my picture:

I can't contact the owner OR reprot them to the site unless I sign up for the site!!  When I try to sign up, it asks if I am a supplier, buyer or both... UM Neither!!!   The site is run out of Hong Kong, so i guess there is NOTHING I can do, but just Warn all of your handmade Artist to watermark your pictures.  I am sure that I am NOT the only one this is happening to.  It makes ALL our hard work look like mass produced Chinese Crap!!!

Many years ago in my Fire Investigation Class, my Teacher said, "Plagiarism is the Finest Form of Flattery"  Well, I am Very Flattered, but I am still Steamed!

addtional info found on the site:
Here is the abuse email address from the registrar.  You can email them and let them know they are using a copyrighted picture that you took and own.  Provide them the link to your page.   It's doubtful they will take the picture down or even respond to you since the site in the Cayman Island, and it looks like they are operating out of Hong Kong through China.  There is an Organization name in the registrar in Santa Clara, CA, but when I looked up the snail mail address, it's the address of Network Associates.  This is likely who they registered their domain name through, and they just used their snail mail address.

OrgAbuseHandle: NETWO4028-ARIN
OrgAbuseName:   Network Abuse
OrgAbusePhone:  86-571-85022088
OrgAbuseEmail:  abuse@alibaba-inc.com
OrgAbuseRef:    http://whois.arin.net/rest/poc/NETWO4028-ARIN